01278 784464
You are here: 

Wed 27th Oct 2021 - Thu 27th Jan 2022

Nornen Project

Tickets

Event Details

Have you seen the Nornen? The shipwreck at Berrow? Have you heard the stories?

The Nornen Project is bringing the story to life with a series of events and the creation of a brand-new theatrical production, all to celebrate the 125th anniversary of this local landmark in 2022. Come and find out about the successful rescue of the crew (and their dog!) by our very own community and have your say in how our story is told. Here’s how you can get involved.

History Talk from John Strickland of Capture Burnham

Wednesday 27th October 10am til 1pm 
Thursday 4th November 6pm til 9pm
VENUE: Morland Community Hub, Morland Hall, Pearce Drive, Highbridge, Somerset, TA9 3FU 

History group Capture Burnham’s John Strickland will deliver talks about the Nornen and the history of our towns (Burnham, Highbridge & Berrow), followed by an open discussion with our practitioner and participants. Participants can share their own local knowledge and stories and discuss how local history and culture can be reflected in the show.

Come armed with your own stories from the past, a listening ear and an open imagination.

Making Theatre: Workshop

Tuesday 23rd November 6pm til 9pm
Friday 10th December 10am til 1pm
VENUE: Berrow Village Hall, Parsonage Road, Berrow, Somerset TA8 2NL 

This workshop is open to everyone. Not an actor? Absolutely fine. We will give you an insight into the skills and techniques involved in making the bare bones of a play without the pressure of performing.

Delivered by an experienced theatre professional, participants will learn the skills and processes involved in devising: creating a play from scratch, rather than working from a script. Participants will have the chance to practically apply these skills, as well as any local knowledge that they have, to create theatrical material related to the story of the Nornen.

Making Theatre: Behind the Scenes with the Professionals 

Wednesday 19th January 2022 10am til 1pm 
Thursday 27th January 2022 2pm til 5pm 

VENUE: Princess Theatre & Arts Centre, Princess Street, Burnham‑on‑Sea, Somerset, TA8 1EH 

Want to know what it’s like to work on a professional theatre production? Fancy seeing what happens behind the scenes? Come and join the professional cast and creative team as they research and develop the story of the Nornen into a brand-new play. This is a chance to not just see a professional show in the making, but to be a part of shaping the show with your own ideas and local knowledge.

Who knows what we’ll create together…

All activities are FREE but ticketed. Book with the Princess Theatre & Arts Centre on 01278 784464

Each activity is BSL Interpreted, includes free food (book in advance to guarantee your choice), and free accessible transport for those who need it. Once you have booked you will be contacted to discuss any access or dietary requirements.

Got any questions? Want to know more? Get in touch:                   [email protected]

Your data and its safety are important to us. When booking for any of these activities you are agreeing that Burnham on Sea and Highbridge Town Council can share your data with the Nornen workshop and event provider for contact purposes regarding dietary and access requirements only.

Dates & Tickets

Date Time Date & Time Ticket
Wednesday 27 October, 2021 10:00am Wed 27 Oct, '21 - 10:00am
Thursday 4 November, 2021 6:00pm Thu 4 Nov, '21 - 6:00pm
Tuesday 23 November, 2021 6:00pm Tue 23 Nov, '21 - 6:00pm
Friday 10 December, 2021 10:00am Fri 10 Dec, '21 - 10:00am
Wednesday 19 January, 2022 10:00am Wed 19 Jan, '22 - 10:00am
Thursday 27 January, 2022 2:00pm Thu 27 Jan, '22 - 2:00pm
Sign up for email updates about events, news and offers